Coordinating Committee 2022-2023

The Strategic Plan Coordinating Committee strives to represent all faculty, staff, student, and management voices as we develop and hone our strategic plan to guide us through the upcoming years. We have representatives from all groups leading this effort, as listed in the table below. We also invite others interested in participating to review our Town Hall notes and recordings from past meetings, and to attend upcoming Town Hall meetings. 

The Function and Role of the Strategic Planning Coordinating Committee:

  • Planning and Budget Council will direct and support the Strategic Planning Coordinating Committee co-chaired by Dr. Jeremy Smotherman and Academic Senate President, Nancy Persons.
  • The committee supports and facilitates the Town Halls and will collect, analyze, and present to Planning and Budget Council the data gathered.
  • For those who cannot attend, town halls will be recorded, and people can complete the same survey used to collect data.
  • Committee has representation from all constituent groups and includes the Vice Presidents, Academic Senate President, and Dr. Jeremy Smotherman. The preference is for no more than 10-12 committee members. 

Coordinating Committee:



Back Up

Committee Co-Chairs

Jeremy Smotherman
Senior Director, Institutional Effectiveness, Research and Planning

Nancy Persons
Librarian, Library & Information Resources
President, Academic Senate


Vice Presidents

Robert Ethington
Vice President, Student Services/Assistant Superintendent

Gene Durand
Vice President, Human Resources

Kate Jolley
Vice President, Finance and Administrative Services

Robert Holcomb
Vice President, Academic Affairs/Asst Superintendent


Management Team

Matthew Long
Executive Dean, Petaluma

Kerry Loewen
Dean, Arts & Humanities


Patty Collis
Programmer Analyst
Information Technology

Kathy Matthies
Administrative Assistant
Curriculum and Educational Support Services

Academic Senate

Nancy Persons (Co-Chair)
Librarian, Library & Information Resources
President, Academic Senate



Cassandra Hillman
Faculty, Kinesiology, Athletics, & Dance

Anne Donegan
Faculty, Social Sciences

Classified Senate

Regina Mahiri
Coordinator, Black/African American Student Support Center, Student Life, Equity & Engagement

Linda Jay
Human Resources Technician
Human Resources


Delashay Carmona Benson
Student Trustee

Abrea Tillman
Student Body President